Virginia Association ofLocal Human Services Officials
Family Cover
Board of Directors
Board of Directors

Officers of this association include: President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer. All officers are elected at the autumn meeting for a two-year term beginning January 1st. All officers of the association shall be full and active members who serve as the senior human services officials in their jurisdictions with the responsibility for several major human services functional areas.

Vacancies shall be filled by a majority vote of the members of the Association in meeting, to serve during the remainder of the unexpired term of the person vacating the office. The president, with the consent of the Executive Board, may appoint members to serve in an acting capacity when vacancies occur in offices during periods when there are no meetings scheduled.

Duties of the officer shall correspond generally to those duties that normally are delegated to such officers, unless such duties are otherwise specifically assigned by the members in meeting or by the Executive Board.

2019 Executive Board

The Executive Board consists of the elected officers, the immediate past president, and Chairs of the Standing Committees. It is the duty of the Executive Board to approve the agenda of the Association meetings for all members; and to transact the business of the Association including policy matters referred to it by the members; and to perform such other duties as may be pertinent to the advancement, welfare and the best interests of the Association and its members.

Anita Friedman, Policy CommitteeAnita Friedman
Arlington County


JanetJanet Areson
Virginia Municipal League

NancyNancy Vincent
City of Falls Church

Sarah Snead  
Past President  
Chesterfield County

Lesley Abashian
City of Fairfax

Jim Taylor
Hanover County
























View a list of Past Presidents of VALHSO >


Become a VALHSO Member Today!

Join Us
Home » About » Board of Directors